Mar 12 2020

Shelby Recognizes 2020 Alabama Delegates Selected for U.S. Senate Youth Program

WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Senator Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) today highlighted the two 2020 Alabama delegates selected for the 58th annual U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP) – Matthew Bray of Birmingham and Eleanor Covington of Enterprise.  The students were chosen for this honor based on their academic excellence, exceptional leadership abilities, and dedication to volunteer work. 
“I commend Matthew Bray and Eleanor Covington on their selection for this high honor,” said Senator Shelby.  “These bright students have exhibited exceptional skills and dedication in the classroom, while also showing interest in pursuing future careers in public service.  I am proud to recognize them for their achievements and confident they will both be successful in their future endeavors.”  
Matthew Bray is currently a senior at Oak Mountain High School and serves as the first vice president of the Alabama Junior Classical League, a statewide organization for secondary school students and teachers devoted to the study of the classics.  He was also selected as the school’s drum major and was tasked with leading, teaching and guiding 220 fellow band members.  Bray plans to study public health and political science in undergrad and hopes to pursue a Juris Doctor graduate program, ultimately seeking a career in the public sector dealing with public health policy.
Eleanor Covington is currently a senior at Enterprise High School and serves as the president of the Spanish National Honor Society, the captain of the varsity Scholars' Bowl team, and an officer in the Psychology Club.  She is also a member of the English team, serves as a Wildcat representative ambassador for her school, and was recognized as a 2019 National Merit Commended Scholar.  Covington enjoys many academic subjects, including history, writing, literature, politics, and environmental science.  After graduation, she plans to pursue an undergraduate degree in English and eventually go to graduate school.
The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962.  Two high school juniors or seniors are selected to be delegates annually from each state, including the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity.  Every delegate is awarded a $10,000 college scholarship.