Dec 07 2007

Shelby Announces Disaster Assistance for Small Business Owners in Baldwin, Covington, Escambia, Geneva and Houston Counties

U.S. Senator Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) today announced that small businesses in five Alabama counties -- Baldwin, Covington, Escambia, Geneva and Houston -- will be eligible for federal disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). 

Eligible small businesses in these counties will be afforded assistance through the SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan program to help with financial losses resulting from this disaster.  These Alabama counties are eligible because they are contiguous to counties in Florida named in a Secretary of Agriculture disaster declaration.

“Many small business owners throughout Alabama have suffered economic losses as a result of the ongoing drought,” said Shelby. “It is our responsibility to ensure that small business owners have access the financial assistance to help them recover from this disaster.  I will continue to do everything I can to ensure that assistance is available and I encourage eligible small business owners to take full advantage of this funding.”

To apply, small businesses can visit the SBA’s website at to download an application, or they may contact the agency’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955.  Completed loan applications must be returned to the SBA no later than June 18, 2008.