May 15 2007

Shelby Announces Disaster Loan Availability for Alabama Farmers

U.S. Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL) today announced that the federal Department of Agriculture designated 41 Alabama counties disaster areas due to unseasonably low temperatures, frost, and freezing conditions that harmed crops.  In addition, 14 Alabama counties were deemed contiguous disaster counties.  These designations will allow farmers in all 55 counties to apply for low-interest emergency loans.  

The designation comes after Senator Shelby joined Senator Sessions and Congressman Aderholt in a meeting with Agriculture Secretary Johanns to discuss the Easter freeze effect on Alabama’s crops and farmers. 

“This year’s late freeze had a catastrophic effect on Alabama’s farm economy,” said Shelby.  “The disaster declaration is an important step towards providing farmers, many of whom lost their entire crop and source of income, with the assistance they need to move forward.  I encourage anyone affected by the Easter freeze to contact the Farm Service Agency to apply for a loan.”

The disaster counties are: Augauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Winston.

The contiguous disaster counties are: Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Elmore, Escambia, Lowndes, Macon, Marengo, Montgomery, Russell and Wilcox.