Jan 26 2007

Shelby Announces Delta Regional Authority Funding Available

U.S. Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL), a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, today announced that the Delta Regional Authority (DRA) has begun its 2007 grant program.  Delta Regional Authority grants target projects that will improve infrastructure in distressed counties, develop transportation infrastructure that will facilitate economic development and job training programs that work with existing public education institutions.

“Delta Regional Authority grants have made a significant impact on the economically distressed areas of our state,” said Senator Shelby.  “Over the past two years, more than $11 million dollars have been distributed to create jobs, improve workforce training, and enhance the infrastructure that communities need to attract new businesses.  I encourage interested agencies to apply for Delta Regional Authority grants to assist with important economic development projects.”

The Delta Regional Authority serves 240 counties and parishes in parts of Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee.  Eligible counties in the State of Alabama include Barbour, Bullock, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Greene, Hale, Lowndes, Macon, Marengo, Monroe, Perry, Pickens, Russell, Sumter, Washington, and Wilcox.  Those interested in applying for grants are encouraged to visit www.dra.gov for further information, including a pre-application package and a timeline.