Nov 14 2007

Shelby Announces Disaster Assistance for Small Business Owners in Chambers, Lee and Russell Counties

U.S. Senator Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) today announced that small businesses in three Alabama counties -- Chambers, Lee and Russell -- will be eligible for   federal disaster loans from U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  Eligible small businesses in these counties will be afforded assistance through the SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan program to help with financial losses resulting from the drought.

“This terrible drought has not only affected Alabama’s farmers and ranchers, but also our small businesses,” said Shelby. “It is critical that small business owners have the financial assistance to help them recover from this disaster.  I will continue to do everything I can to ensure that assistance is available and I encourage eligible small business owners to take full advantage of this funding.”

To apply, small businesses can visit the SBA’s website at to download an application, or they may contact the agency’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955.  Completed loan applications must be returned to the SBA no later than June 18, 2008.