Feb 20 2008

Shelby Announces Disaster Loan Program Deadline

U.S. Senator Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) today announced that small business owners in nine east Alabama counties affected by the ongoing drought have until March 27, 2008, to apply for Small Business Administration Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL). 

Eligible small businesses in nine counties—Barbour, Chambers, Cherokee, Cleburne, DeKalb, Henry, Houston, Jackson and Randolph-- will be afforded assistance through the EIDL program to help with financial losses resulting from this disaster.  These Alabama counties are eligible because they are contiguous to counties in Georgia named in a Secretary of Agriculture disaster declaration.

“The severe drought conditions across the southeast have impacted countless small businesses in Alabama.” said Shelby.  “Unfortunately, weather forecasters see no immediate drought relief in sight.  I encourage eligible small business owners who suffered financial losses as a result of the drought to take full advantage of these loans before the deadline on March 27, 2008.”
To apply, small businesses can visit the SBA’s website at www.sba.gov/disaster to download an application, or they may contact the agency’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955.  Local Small Business Development Centers (SBDC) are available to help small business owners complete their disaster loan applications.  For more information on SBDC locations in Alabama, please call 205-307-6510.