Jul 12 2017

Shelby Congratulates Alabama’s Fulbright Scholars, Commends Hard Work

WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Senator Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) today announced that 25 students from Alabama have been selected as U.S. Fulbright Program awards recipients for the 2016-2017 academic year. The Fulbright Program is one of the most sought-after exchange programs and highlights outstanding individuals annually from each state.

“I am encouraged to see young individuals from Alabama receiving this distinction and reward for their academic and professional achievements,” said Shelby. “These hard-working students will use this opportunity to gain knowledge about leadership and the importance of diversity. I offer them my congratulations and believe they will continue to do great things, representing Alabama well in U.S. foreign policy efforts around the world.”

The U.S. Fulbright Program, established by Congress in 1946 and funded through an annual appropriation to the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, has worked to build relationships between Americans and emerging leaders around the globe. Individuals of academic and professional achievement who are current and future leaders in their respective fields are selected through open, merit-based competition. Recipients of Fulbright awards represent excellence and global diversity of their societies.


The following Alabamians have been selected as 2017 recipients of the Fulbright Program:


Ms. Shavondria Jackson, Satsuma

Xavier University of Louisiana


Mr. Christopher Wadibia, Daphne

Georgetown University


Ms. Carolyn Campbell-Golden, Montgomery

Auburn University at Montgomery


Mr. Benjamin Cole, Auburn

Auburn University

Dr. Guillermo Francia, Jacksonville

Jacksonville State University


Dr. Stacey Hunt, Auburn

Auburn University


Dr. Russel Lemmons, Weaver

Jacksonville State University


Dr. James Long, Auburn

Auburn University


Dr. Ellen Peck, Jacksonville

Jacksonville State University


Mr. Miriam Kirch, Sheffield

University of North Alabama


Mr. Perrin Lowrey, Northport

University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa


Ms. Anna Brainerd, Harvest

University of Memphis


Ms. Patricia Cooney, Huntsville

College of Charleston


Mr. Grant Gill, Decatur

Belmont University


Ms. Samantha Hurley, Madison

Samford University


Mr. Zachary Wroblewski, Madison

Berry College


Ms. Shweta Bhatia, Mountain Brook

Carleton College


Ms. Leah Fox, Birmingham

Tulane University


Ms. Brianna Gorman, Birmingham

Auburn University


Ms. Ana Luquerna, Birmingham

Vanderbilt University


Ms. Catherine Tabor, Centreville

Auburn University


Ms. Rebecca Beamer, Tuscaloosa

University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa


Dr. Randall Schumacker, Tuscaloosa

University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa


Mr. Christian Shannon, Tuscaloosa

University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa


Ms. Pandora White, Tuscaloosa

University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa