Apr 11 2003


Six Alabamians Receive Nod for Academic Success and Strong Leadership

U.S. Sen. Richard C. Shelby (R-Ala.) today announced that six Alabama high school students have been named semifinalists in the 2003 Presidential Scholars Program. The award is based on several criteria: academic and artistic success, leadership, and involvement in their school and community.

Alabama’s semifinalists are:

  • Michael E. Burns, Oak Mountain High School, Shelby County Schools
  • Grace S. Hwang, Vestavia Hills High School, Vestavia Hills City Schools
  • Andrew B. Newman, Muscle Shoals High School, Muscle Shoals City Schools
  • Sarah K. Reichwein, Cullman High School, Cullman City Schools
  • Neel B. Srikishen, Bob Jones High School, Madison City Schools
  • Jacquelyn W. Zimmerman, Virgil Grissom High School, Huntsville City Schools

 These students will now have the opportunity to compete to become one of 141 Presidential Scholars nationwide. The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars will review all applications and announce the winners in June, 2003.

Senator Richard Shelby said, “I send my sincere congratulations to each of these remarkable students for excelling academically and for leadership they’ve displayed to their peers. Being named a semifinalist in the Presidential Scholars program is a testament to their hard work and dedication to their school and community.”

The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by Executive Order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was expanded to include students who demonstrate exceptional scholarship and talent in the arts.