May 16 2007

Senator Announces Loan Availability for Alabama Farmers


Alabama Sen. Richard Shelby said Tuesday that the federal Department of Agriculture has designated 41 Alabama counties disaster areas due to unseasonably low temperatures, frost, and freezing conditions that harmed crops.

The disaster counties are: Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Winston.

In addition, 14 Alabama counties were deemed contiguous disaster counties.

The contiguous disaster counties are: Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Elmore, Escambia, Lowndes, Macon, Marengo, Montgomery, Russell and Wilcox.

A news release from Shelby's office stated these designations would allow farmers in all 55 counties to apply for low-interest emergency loans.